on my knees

on my knees

reason today, I feel the weight of the world on my shoulders. Like darkness hovers over me. i cant seem to find my joy. I feel alienated, detached for some reason. My smile is not on my face neither does it seem to be in my soul. The sun is out yet I can’t seem to feel its warmth. I set my fingers to strum, but it just sounds like noise. There is no feel, no soul. It’s like I’m just going through the motions. Alone… I try to sing but all my mouth spews are hollow words. Empty, severed from the soul. They don’t really make any sense. I fight tears, tears I can’t quite explain. I the fire in my soul is reduced to smoldering embers, the light in my heart just flickers. My walls are caving in…. then I remember to whom I belong. I remember to whom I gave myself to. I remember that when I can’t stand, it’s ok to fall on my knees. I remember that when I feel weak HE is strong. I remember that I am fearfully and wonderfully made. I remember that HE holds me and all my tomorrows. I remember that the song HE put in my soul is still there and will never be erased. I remember that circumstances will never drown my destiny. On my knees, HE reminds me. I am His and He is mine.

Leave a Reply

