release

For a long time, I have been unable to write. I would sit down and stare at paper or the screen for a long time with nothing to show for it. If I was lucky id jot down a sentence or small paragraph then end up erasing it. This took a toll on me, because sometimes writing helps keeps me sane. It helps slow down the cogs in my brain so I can breathe and think. But since I couldn’t write I felt a little uneasy. Ok, maybe a tad more uneasy.  I wasn’t settled, and I didn’t know what to do.

A few weeks ago, my friend gets in touch with me and asks me to go pick up a few sheets of cardboard she wasn’t using. I was really glad and quickly took her up on the offer. On getting there I she surprises me with brushes and a pack of artists charcoal! The grin on my face, I was so happy. I couldn’t wait to get home. a few months before another friend of mine gave me his easel. I had been planning on getting some canvas stretched but hadn’t quite gotten round to it.

I got home that day all giddy. The next day I got some embossed paper, the cardboard, my easel and pastels. And the rest is history. I didn’t even think about it. Sitting in the sun and writing in colour was the most moving experience for me. I had so much inside that I couldn’t get out, because I couldn’t explain it. Even words  failed me. Pastels came to my rescue. And the result , some peace of mind.

Some people will get it, some wont. Others will find their own meaning in my paintings.  These are bits of my heart, my story in colour.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

